Skip to content

How is wine not vegan?

07/09/2017

ec900cb3b2c6e1ef8b539e7229d5d454

I was out with a friend last night and we were having a glass of wine with our super healthy salad, when she asked the waitress is the wine vegan?

I thought, really is that possible?  How can wine not be vegan?  It is, after all,  a product made from grapes.   Not animals or fish.

So I went home and started to do some research.  I found out that during the wine process, fining agents are used and these are derived in most cases from animals.            As these fining agents are not additives, the wine industry does not have to disclose them in the ingredients like they do with sulphites!

This is what I found on the PETA website:

“The fining agent is used to remove protein, yeast, cloudiness, “off” flavors and colorings, and other organic particles. Popular animal-derived fining agents used in the production of wine include blood and bone marrow, casein (milk protein), chitin (fiber from crustacean shells), egg albumen (derived from egg whites), fish oil, gelatin (protein from boiling animal parts), and isinglass (gelatin from fish bladder membranes)”.

Of course, there are other issues around these fining agents other than wanting to avoid animal products, these additives can create hangovers, increase issues with food intolerance and make you feel rather rotten the next day, even after 1 glass!

So next time you are out and fancy a glass of wine, ask the staff if you can have the list of vegan wines.  You will be delighted when you wake up the next morning without that foggy head and if you have chosen to be vegan you will be assured that you have been able to sustain your choice of avoiding all animal products in your diet.    Enjoy!

SaveSave

SaveSave

Comments are closed.